World Press Photo 08 | State Library of New South Wales

World Press Photo 08

This exhibition features the award-winning photographs from the 51st annual World Press Photo contest.  

The international jury awarded prizes across ten theme categories to 59 photographers, including three Australians: Tim Clayton, Andrew Quilty and Daniel Berehulak. The prestigious World Press Photo of the Year was awarded to British photographer Tim Hetherington for a colour image of an exhausted US soldier resting in a bunker in Afghanistan.

World Press Photo is sponsored worldwide by Canon and TNT. The exhibition has been brought to Sydney by Canon Australia and supported by Getty Images, JC Decaux and TNT.

Open: 8 May 2008 – 5 June 2008
Galleries, Mitchell Wing
State Library opening hours
Admission: Free

Supported by